top of page
  • Writer's pictureMuhammad Zain Rasheed

Bitter Root by David Walker, Chuck Brown and Sanford Greene

Bitter Root is a graphic novel series written by David F. Walker, Chuck Brown, and illustrated by Sanford Greene. The series is set in the 1920s during the Harlem Renaissance, a time of great cultural and social change in America. The story follows the Sangerye family, a family of "monster hunters" who are tasked with protecting the world from evil supernatural creatures. The main protagonist, Cullen, is a veteran of World War I who returns home to find his family torn apart by personal tragedy and a new threat to the world.

The series is known for its blend of historical fiction, fantasy, and horror elements and its exploration of various themes such as family, race, and identity. The series features a diverse cast of characters and it incorporates real-life historical figures and events from the Harlem Renaissance. The art is also noteworthy for its dynamic style, which captures the energy of the era.

The series was first published in 2018 and has received critical acclaim for its storytelling, art and representation of characters. It has been nominated for multiple awards such as the Hugo Award for Best Graphic Story and the Eisner Award for Best Limited Series.

Overall, Bitter Root is a critically acclaimed graphic novel series that is highly praised for its storytelling, art, and representation of characters and culture. It's a unique blend of historical fiction, fantasy, and horror that speaks to the modern world and its issues. The series explores complex themes and provides a fresh perspective on the Harlem Renaissance era, making it an engaging and thought-provoking read.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page